Skip to content
17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 11:12 am

    Oh, had I been Agassi’s ghostwriter, I would have lingered so much longer on that. What was she wearing? How was her Streisandicure? What Celine song was it? Did Barbra make any movements with her mouth, any furrowed brow, any look of curiosity? Where were you driving? Was it a whole album or one song? Did she study or ignore it? Andre, I want to know it all!

    SERIOUSLY. This would have been its own chapter and possible its own book proposal. I think I nearly fainted when I read this part and it’s interesting you used “streisandicure” since this very book is definitely part of what inspired the whole concept (streisand flick + mani).

  2. April 16, 2010 11:17 am

    Omg, we are twins. I wrote a Celine origin story re: The Peanut Butter Solution. It was the first movie with English language versions of her songs!

    Now about that DM Master/Servant bidness. I think Ms. C earned her wings on this one. It is so delicious!

  3. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:19 am

    I seriously got re-obsessed with the Dion/Streisand video a few weeks before the book came at the library, it paved the way for me. I like when part of life become full circle. Also, this entry could be also be in the category of “what begins as a draft e-mail to angelina.”

  4. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:21 am

    I should say, I do have some Celine on my ipod. I didn’t mean to make it sound like I have no love for her music — I did sing “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now” at karaoke this past weekend.

  5. April 16, 2010 11:34 am

    Oh I know your Celine heart is pure and strong. I am the same. I have a couple of songs on iPod and am grateful that unlike the Unofficial Elvis fan club Blanche ran, I’m not asked to have such faithful devotion to Celine.

    I’m definitely with you on the “Cult of Celine”.

    Omg, did you know La Mommie saw her in VEGAS. They even have lots of her music. They have the kind of unabashed devotion we can some day aspire to!

  6. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:59 am

    Hunka Hunka Burnin’ Love indeed. I would have loved to have seen her in Vegas! Have you read Celine’s autobiography? I haven’t read the whole thing, but there are some amazing excerpts, including the _climax_ of the book when she is racing through Montreal traffic to get to a doctor’s appointment on time to get a prognosis about throat nodes. Yeah, you read everything about that sentence correctly.

    I wish Kubrick was alive to make “Lolita 2: The Middle Age Years of Lolita and Humbert”and she and Rene would star.

  7. April 16, 2010 12:56 pm

    wish Kubrick was alive to make “Lolita 2: The Middle Age Years of Lolita and Humbert”and she and Rene would star.

    Oh my god, the Kube would be all.over.this.

  8. April 16, 2010 1:41 pm

    First I have to admit I own no Celine or Barbra albums, songs, videos, or other ephemera. So I’m not like, a fan.

    That video was incredible. In like a total cheese way. For me at least. I watched the Kathy Griffin video, and while I am also not a Kathy Griffin fan, that recap was off the hook! I can just visualize it in my head. I love that she painted that mic white. And the lipstick on the sweater. Too much!

  9. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:14 pm

    Tasha, I am glad to hear this, because I really feel like this video captures the essence of them so well, that even people who don’t know their catalog can fully realize their, um, grandeur.

    Kathy Griffin has a couple of great storytelling moments that I enjoy, that being my favorite, but the other is the story of interacting with Gwyneth Paltrow and Stella McCartney on the red carpet. Let me try and hunt that down too….

  10. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:23 pm

    @Tasha here the only other Kathy Griffin clip you need to see.

    The first part starts here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PDb-2yjV14#t=4m33s

    And the second part picks up here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_nZw1R5-x0

    (but you can stop watching as soon as she’s done with their story.)

  11. April 16, 2010 2:34 pm

    Oh gosh, Babs’s Streisandicure is off the chain in the “Tell Him” video!

  12. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:37 pm

    I know!! I have to say, I don’t mind Celine’s smokey eyes either.

  13. April 16, 2010 2:39 pm

    I think I’m making “Tell Him” my weekly streisandicure and citing this entry of course.

    and since you mentioned it:

    Oh this is pretty much a Babs inspired song. She should sing it for her at some kind of lifetime achievement awards ceremony.

    PS: the movie is stinktastic.

  14. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:50 pm

    oh hell yeah. though it’s at least a top entry in the “sucky movie, popular theme song” catalog. have you seen the Sela Ward version?

  15. April 16, 2010 3:05 pm

    Oh dear god in heaven. They reworked that movie? I thought the cheese well had been thoroughly tapped!

  16. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 16, 2010 4:55 pm

    Oh no, the Sela Ward version came FIRST. it was the dramatic version where she actually dies, i.e. follows the story of Jessica Savitch. and I think Ron Silver did the love interest role. this was back when Lifetime attempted quality content. also, they were playing syndicated Sisters episodes like nobody’s business….I hope those show up on netflix instant soon!

  17. April 16, 2010 5:00 pm

    it was the dramatic version where she actually dies, i.e. follows the story of Jessica Savitch

    Please tell me she rocks a bad feathery blond wig!!!

Leave a Reply

