Skip to content

One Hit Wondering

April 13, 2010
by

Today: Spacehog “In the Meantime”

There are a lot of “hits” from the 90’s that I don’t get. (See: Madonna’s horrendous rehashing of “American Pie” ((which wasn’t great to begin with)), John Secada’s overwrought, milquetoasty “Angel”, The Presidents of the U.S.A. dumbed down to the point of cardboard “Lump” and Phil Collins committed too many crimes to even list.). But the 90’s also get way more crap then they deserve. There are literaly Hammerpants full of kickass pop songs just waiting to make their way back onto your iPod. Spacehog’s glorious ode to glam-era David Bowie, “In the Meantime” is one of my faves.

The intro uses one of the oldest tricks in the book, the mellow groove lead-in. That pleasant little bass line and U.F.O. noise keyboard float around a little before that big, catchy riff. ZAP! Falsetto “Oooh Oooooh Ooooohs”, guitars so crunchy that they stay crispy in milk. It’s an old trick but it works because that hook is so damn good. The hook is so fantastic that you spend the entire song waiting for it to happen again. Jesus, even the bridge is good. Those little bastards. I don’t even know what this song is about. Who cares? Listening to this again made me wish I still owned a car, that it was sunny out, and that I still smoked so I could bung around in a shitty car with the windows down while chain smoking with nowhere to be.

Don’t worry about the deep cuts from Spacehog because, well, there really aren’t many. There are a few other toe-tappers on the first two albums, but for the most part, it would seem that Spacehog only had one real money shot in them, and they blew it all on “In the Meantime”. But that’s not so bad really. Helluva song to leave as your only legacy. Some bands can’t even manage one good one.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 11:00 am

    This is one of my favorites for all the reasons you’ve stated. It’s got a bad ass intro and a hook like whoa.

    We love the all in all in you.

  2. April 13, 2010 11:01 am

    The intro uses one of the oldest tricks in the book, the mellow groove lead-in. That pleasant little bass line and U.F.O. noise keyboard float around a little before that big, catchy riff. ZAP! Falsetto “Oooh Oooooh Ooooohs”, guitars so crunchy that they stay crispy in milk.

    Hello? Is this thing on? *tap tap tap*

    I’ll grant you everything you said about Phil, but not on this one. It’s pretty much the best thing he did in the 90s.

  3. April 13, 2010 11:09 am

    I forgot that Phil broke one of the cardinal rules of showbiz, “Never work with babies or adorable dogs.” !!!

    Ok, “SHOTWTH” gets a pass because of a catchy chorus, great use of horns and a weird beard playing lead guitar.

  4. April 13, 2010 11:11 am

    Yes, but the rest was all kinds of fail. Definitely to the point of painful. He has a lot of wives to support. That’s most of the problem.

    Are you planning this as a series? Cause I loved revisiting Spacehog.

    Oh this thing we call divine.

  5. evmaroon permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:59 am

    Now every time I pour out a bowl of cornflakes I’ll think of p0plife and Spacehog. And I thank you for that.

  6. April 13, 2010 12:13 pm

    I loved this song!! Thanks for reminding me of it. You’re right, the 90s were full of one-offs like that. THIS made me LOL hard, though:

    for the most part, it would seem that Spacehog only had one real money shot in them, and they blew it all on “In the Meantime”

    You’re hurting my stitches, Spoon. THEY BLEW IT ALL. Ow. See, now I’m hurting again.

  7. hsofia permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:53 pm

    That looks like Summer Phoenix at 1:01. I wonder what that was all about (but not that much). Great writing in this review.

  8. April 13, 2010 7:04 pm

    That looks like Summer Phoenix at 1:01.

    I’m inclined to go with “Yes, that’s probably her.”

  9. April 13, 2010 10:36 pm

    Joaquin directed the video for the lead singer of Spacehog’s solo album! So yeah, chances are good it’s her.

  10. April 14, 2010 1:07 am

    Omg, I totally forgot about that, Spoon!

  11. hsofia permalink
    April 14, 2010 1:38 am

    Cool. I like Joaquin. He is awesome. I wonder if he really is going to retire from acting. I remember when Jet Li said he wasn’t going to make any violent movies anymore about five years and five violent movies ago.

  12. evmaroon permalink
    April 14, 2010 1:51 am

    Gosh, I can’t believe you didn’t pick EMF for this. (Just kidding!)

    @hsofia: I think I read recently that Joaquin is coming back to acting after all. I will try to find the source for you.

  13. April 14, 2010 2:03 am

    I remember when Jet Li said he wasn’t going to make any violent movies anymore about five years and five violent movies ago.

    LOL!

  14. hsofia permalink
    April 15, 2010 10:51 pm

    @evmaroon – ooh, that’s good news. I will always heart him for an interview he did where he said he gets asked by reporters, “Do you wish your brother were still alive so you two could be in a movie together?” and he was like, “What the fuck – I just wish my brother were still alive, PERIOD.” I’m just paraphrasing, but his aggravation really touched me.

Leave a Reply

