Skip to content

IFMiB’s Commenter of the Week: Hsofia!

April 9, 2010

a million lights are dancing and there you are, as shooting star

The commenter of the week is – Hsofia*, who provides clever commentary on even the most fatuous posts. So on behalf of the Fry Butter traveling road show thanks for your contributions!

  • “I don’t think it’s so bad. I mean, they didn’t break up with each other via Twitter – it’s just how they chose to announce it. I’ve never had to publicly announce my partnerships so am unsure of the etiquette – press conference? news release? I’m mostly surprised they were only together for five years; Lauren Holly seemed like ten years ago.”
  • “OMG. I still have one or two cassette tapes from when I was a kid … I would pretend I was a radio DJ at a station called WHYA (my initials at the time) and I would tape my favorite of the top 40 hits that played on Saturday mornings. In between my songs, I’d make my little brothers play out the commercials for fake products that I’d written out ahead of time, and I’d conduct fake interviews with them. Good times.”
  • “This is true, and as the series went on, I went through a neutral feeling about him, to being very disgusted by him, to (by the end of the movie) feeling just sort of resigned. I also liked Carrie very strongly in the beginning, but as time wore on she actually became my least favorite of the girls. And she usually was more interesting when dating guys who were not Big.”
  • “I’ve never lived in the south, only visited; my dad-who-raised-me is from there and refused to ever live there again. So we moved west instead. I know some incredible people in Tennessee, Arkansas (no one in Mississippi), and Louisiana who have shared their experiences of being Southerners – and I know it’s a lot more complex than the stereotypes, more than just comfort food and good music. But I haven’t quite wrapped my head around the differences. This one’s definitely a growing edge for me. The times I’ve visited southern states didn’t even scratch the surface of what I don’t understand.”
  • “I wish I could remember … I think one was some type of dishwashing liquid, or shampoo. I definitely went for the cheese factor, and oversold everything. I need to get a cassette player.”

________________________________________________________
*offer void where prohibited by law.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. msjacks permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:57 pm

    Yeahhhhhhhh go Hsofia!!!! We love you!

  2. April 9, 2010 8:00 pm

    You’re tops!!!

  3. April 9, 2010 10:14 pm

    hsofia is awesome and also a stand-out among many great commenters (is that how you spell it?) at Shapely Prose. Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear how you spend all that prize money!

  4. evmaroon permalink
    April 9, 2010 11:02 pm

    Wahoo! Thanks for your insight and fantastic comments!

  5. hsofia permalink
    April 10, 2010 2:09 am

    Y’all are too kind, and I feel all blushy. My comments seem so spazzy now that I see them like that, but whatevs! I like you all and I like myself, so this is sweet.

  6. April 10, 2010 10:38 pm

    You’re a fabulous commenter. You are thoughtful, funny and very sweet! We could do better to learn the ways of your super awesome powers.

Leave a Reply

