Skip to content

Ann Magnuson in Facebook Shocker!

April 8, 2010

Pre-post warning. If you work for Facebook, the photo posted below will be NSFW.

I’m gonna gloat a little here.

I’m “friends” with Ann Magnuson. I was “friends” with her on Myspace (feel old yet?) and was invited to be her friend on Facebook when she decided to leave the glitterygif and unwanted friend-request-from-band-you’ve-never-heard-of wasteland for (slightly) greener pastures. It was nice. Ann posted about concerts, dished on working with the magnificent David Bowie in The Hunger, uploaded photos of her sly and witty found-object sculptures. She even left me a nice little “Happy Birthday” wall post on my special day. Class act, all the way.

Then late last night she posted this from her fan page:

Ann Magnuson Sorry folks, it looks as though the FB police have disabled my personal account! I suspect it was the Austin Young photo of me as the Roxy music girls, so racy! Will keep you posted…

Whaaaaaaaaaaa? *Insert Price is Right FAIL horn here*

The "offending" photo.

Alright. OK. I guess it is a touch racy. There is a little touching of the bathing suit area, but there’s nothing to see here that one wouldn’t see on an episode of Desperate Housewives, or hell, even Survivor.

So Ann, being the class act she is, responded on Dangerous Minds. And her fans responded by creating a Reinstate Ann Group.

There have been no other updates from Ann other than to say she’ll be back on (gasp) Myspace for a while.

I’m having a hard time groking all this. There are plenty of profile pics all over Facebook that show users in bikinis, low-cut tops, even half-naked. Then there’s the old double standard of dudes baring their bare chest for all to see. Including fan pages for something called AussieBum.

'Ey mate, let's put another waxed nipple on the barbie.

Pardon me, but isn’t he bare-chested, wearing his skivvies and touching his bathing suit area?

The people who are “friends” with Ann know who she is, what she’s about. Shouldn’t a community be allowed to decide what is appropriate for the community?

Look, it’s still early for me. I haven’t finished my coffee and there is still junk in my eyes, but… Isn’t this all pretty basic stuff? Honestly, I feel a little ridiculous for even posting about this. It feels like a joke.  But I guess I can’t help it. Lately, I keep feeling like culture in America is going backwards. I used to think it was because a paradigm shift was about to happen. After all, don’t people always kick the hardest right before they’re beat?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:57 am

    Well, this is the company that takes ownership of whatever is posted on its site, remember? The one that sells information to third parties and stalks users even when they’re off the site (like they’re doing to me now?). They don’t have any regard for the people at the end of the keyboard, they’re just looking for revenue. So I don’t expect them to make much sense.

  2. April 8, 2010 11:04 am

    I’m not inclined to infer anything more sinister than usual into this… I suspect someone reported the pic as offensive, and a tight-sphinctered drone at facebook took it upon itself to drop the banhammer. I predict the ban will be lifted in less than 24 hours.

  3. April 8, 2010 11:05 am

    I guess that’s what boggles the mind. How does Facebook make revenue by blocking Ann’s profile? You’ve just alienated a couple of thousand people who logged on everyday.

    But yeah, Facebook does have a history of wonky practices and creepy stalkery actions.

  4. evmaroon permalink
    April 8, 2010 11:14 am

    agreed, they take down profiles all the time, and I mean all the time, if someone says said profile is profane, offensive, or otherwise out compliance with FB’s “standards.” it was a helpful policy several months ago when those aggro voyeurs of trans women made a group on FB for their picture repository, and several good people wrote in to say the group didn’t belong on FB. FB took that shit down.

  5. April 8, 2010 1:36 pm

    I had to go and fan that save Ann group first, then I came back and noticed that guy’s bathing suit area is practically touching us. Thank Xena, J-Cam didn’t get his way – yet – and everything isn’t in 3D otherwise his bathing suit area would be poking my eyes out.

    I am loving Ann’s “Country Life” – wait that’s the right one – send up. It is so awesome to know she’s still taking ‘er easy for all us sinners.

    Spoon, there were many lulz to be had here, not the least of which was the triumphant return of “the bathing suit area.”

  6. April 8, 2010 2:51 pm

    Well, this is the company that takes ownership of whatever is posted on its site, remember? The one that sells information to third parties and stalks users even when they’re off the site (like they’re doing to me now?). They don’t have any regard for the people at the end of the keyboard, they’re just looking for revenue. So I don’t expect them to make much sense.

    Wait, what does this look like, because I feel this too, but can’t articulate why or point to anything specific.

  7. msjacks permalink
    April 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    Oh my god, I have seen worse content than this from TEENAGERS. Ridiculous. And depressing.

  8. April 8, 2010 9:43 pm

    Ann Magnuson is like one of the coolest people ever! Bongwater will exact its revenge!!!

  9. evmaroon permalink
    April 8, 2010 9:47 pm

    @Snarky’s Machine: FB and its 3rd party application partners run scripts on the site that do things like customize advertising to each account, looking at things like the groups, status updates, and information/profile data to build their analysis of what each user would be most inclined to buy. But these scripts don’t stop running when you exit the page UNLESS you log out. So say you’re in FB and then you run a search in say, your Firefox Google search field, and go to that list of Google results, FB knows what you just searched for, even if you’ve never typed those keywords into FB itself.

    And in the fine print of your user agreement to them, the language of which they updated in 2008 or early 2009, they now make a claim on everything you do within their site—your status updates, your photos, your notes—that they can reuse this content to market their site or do whatever else the hell they want. So don’t write anything in FB that you don’t want sole ownership of in the future.

  10. April 9, 2010 1:17 pm

    I’m happy to say that my 24 hour prediction was pretty much spot on: as of about an hour ago, Ms. Magnuson reported that her facebook page was back:

    Ann Magnuson Guess what kids! I’m back!! And I LOVE YOU ALL!!!!! (And kinda wishing this could’ve dragged out a *little* longer but one’s 15 minutes of fame in this day and age squeezes down into a Tweet-sized bit.) My mind has been so BLOWN by this incredible outpouring of support!!! Of course they still haven’t told me WHY but si…nce *that* photo is now vanished and the Massey Coal comment remains I think we can safely assume it was the panties. Yeesh!

  11. April 9, 2010 3:10 pm

    Redlami is our resident Ms. Cleo! Now I am imagining him with swirling psychedelic backgrounds and silk robes.

    Oh Ann, It’s good to have you back. And if it’s one thing that I’ve realized is truth as I’ve gotten older is that it’s ALWAYS the panties.

  12. April 9, 2010 3:39 pm

    Another Ann gem:

    Now, will WHOEVER the prude was who complained about that Roxy Music homage pic PLEASE DEFRIEND ME!! There’s liable to be something in the future that you ain’t gonna cotton to either, kittycat!

    MEOW! <3<3<3

Leave a Reply

