Skip to content

BFFs 4eva and the terror of living in these times.

April 7, 2010

So, Jim Carrey and Jenny McCarthy broke up and twittered it out.  Good thing I’m still awake to mind the newswire that Twitter has become!  I don’t follow these two on my stream, actually, but someone else referenced it, leading me to google the longer version.  For a moment, I thought I might failow the two of them now, to see how thing unfold, in case it gets dramatic or ugly, but after reading the public statement tweets, I’m not sure I have the stomach for it.

Around 3 p.m. Tuesday, McCarthy (@JennyfromMTV) wrote, “Im so grateful for the years Jim and I had together. I will stay committed to Jane and will always keep Jim as a leading man in my heart.”

Has the AP style book been officially updated on how to properly cite a tweet, or is every outlet just making it up as they go along? Anyway, then Mr. Carrey had this to say for himself shortly thereafter:

Carrey (@jimcarreywrote, “Jenny and I have just ended our 5yr relationship. I’m grateful 4 the many blessings we’ve shared and I wish her the very best! S’okay! ?;^>”

Did he really just make some sort of complicated happy face emoticon in his divorce announcement tweet?  Wait, what?  There’s  a lot more to unpack here.  I am on twitter, I love it while cringing all the way through some days, in part because of this.  Some days I am a  social media lion, eating up sites and structures all over the place, but then other days I think I don’t have the constitution for the pace and chaos of such hyperorganic development of communication without any unified propriety and expectation to help in making things more positive in the social part.

Also, he said “s’okay!”  This bothers me and it’s not my divorce!

I guess it’s a little bit like what is proper facebook status use, when is something too private, too personal, or too poorly timed.  I understand that the possibility and ease of lightning fast dispertion of information to everyone you know has strong upside, and I’ve certainly used it for that myself, but some topics just will always feel a bit strange to read via these mediums.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:40 am

    and what @4evermore has to say about it: maybe divorce should b more private, doh!

  2. hsofia permalink
    April 7, 2010 3:00 am

    I don’t think it’s so bad. I mean, they didn’t break up with each other via Twitter – it’s just how they chose to announce it. I’ve never had to publicly announce my partnerships so am unsure of the etiquette – press conference? news release? I’m mostly surprised they were only together for five years; Lauren Holly seemed like ten years ago.

  3. April 7, 2010 3:12 am

    Did he really just make some sort of complicated happy face emoticon in his divorce announcement tweet? Wait, what? There’s a lot more to unpack here. I am on twitter, I love it while cringing all the way through some days, in part because of this. Some days I am a social media lion, eating up sites and structures all over the place, but then other days I think I don’t have the constitution for the pace and chaos of such hyperorganic development of communication without any unified propriety and expectation to help in making things more positive in the social part.

    There is so much to unpack here. I am so embarrassed for both of them. They can’t even wait until after the sheets have dried from the break up sex to announce things? What kind of world do we live in where Liz Smith no longer breaks news of splitting couples minus the jacked up passive aggressive use of emoticons.

  4. April 7, 2010 7:23 am

    I’m just relieved Carrey didn’t figure out how to make an ass-crack emoticon.

  5. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:51 am

    @snarkysmachine I know! Can’t they think of the poor careers of publicists and gossip columnists who specialize in blind items? They need material to keep working!!

  6. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:54 am

    @hsofia You’re right, it’s not so bad (or as scintillating) as if they had actually thrown some drama back and forth via @ replies…..but I am not convinced that it’s so good either! I feel the same way about myself, which is why I’d never decide to use Facebook to say “Raymond Johnson is divorced” or “Raymond Johnson is in mourning because grandma died.” Some things I think still deserve a more gentle and personal touch. I am an old-fashioned social media hound, apparently.

  7. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:55 am

    @redlami: good point — me too!!

  8. msjacks permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:38 am

    I wonder how many celebs have broken up on Twitter and nobody knows about it.

  9. April 7, 2010 11:40 am

    I didn’t even know they were married! I thought they were just common law-ing it or something.

  10. hsofia permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:49 am

    @araymondjohnson – you are definitely old school.

  11. April 7, 2010 5:25 pm

    @snarkysmachine I know! Can’t they think of the poor careers of publicists and gossip columnists who specialize in blind items? They need material to keep working!!

    I mean what is AJ Benza gonna do now if celebs have taken it upon themselves to break their gossip? Will twitter put TMZ out of the tattling business?

  12. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 8, 2010 8:28 am

    @msjacks — hahahaha, good point!! so many get left behind in the twitter stream every day and we don’t recognize those fallen soldiers.

Leave a Reply

