Skip to content

Don’t Need No Credit Card to Ride This Train

April 4, 2010

Ten of the biggest selling singles of 1985.

  1. We Don’t Need Another Hero – Tina Turner
  2. Method of Modern Love – Hall & Oates
  3. Nightshift – Commodores
  4. Oh Sheila – Ready For the World
  5. Election Day – Arcadia
  6. Some Like it Hot – The Power Station
  7. The Power of Love – Huey Lewis & The News
  8. We Built This City – Starship
  9. Careless Whisper* – Wham

__________________________________________________

* Best selling single of 1985.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. msjacks permalink
    April 4, 2010 2:40 am

    Ok seriously, WTF is going on here, Snarkles?

  2. April 4, 2010 2:46 am

    Ha. It’s called “seventeen post drafts waiting to be relevant” !

  3. April 4, 2010 6:26 am

    Looking at this list I see Bartertown and think “We build this city… on pigshit!”

  4. April 4, 2010 11:08 am

    It’s embarrassing to admit I probably had the cassingle of most of these fine songs.

  5. hsofia permalink
    April 4, 2010 12:14 pm

    OMG, you are killing me with these 80s references. I heard “Night Shift” at a store the other day and it took me baaack. God, I loved that song. I felt so earnest about it. Same for #1, #7, and #9. Oh to be 8 years old and oh-so-serious.

  6. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 4, 2010 1:21 pm

    I ran out of time to sing Easy Lover at karaoke last weekend, so I may need to prioritize it this weekend!

  7. April 4, 2010 1:32 pm

    Holy cow, I’ve been hearing a handful of these in the thrift store & my Rhapsody radio (husband and I are huge George Michael fans) or maybe from my tooth fillings. You can take me out of the 80s but you can’t… you know the rest.

  8. evmaroon permalink
    April 4, 2010 1:50 pm

    I used to hear a song come on the radio that I liked, and then quick, run to press play and record at the same time to put it on a cassette. I had a lot of songs that started with *fumble, jumble, click click, mid-beat tempo*. Thanks for the memories.

  9. April 4, 2010 4:06 pm

    You can take me out of the 80s but you can’t… you know the rest.

    Kelly, I wholehearted agree with this.

  10. April 4, 2010 4:08 pm

    I used to hear a song come on the radio that I liked, and then quick, run to press play and record at the same time to put it on a cassette. I had a lot of songs that started with *fumble, jumble, click click, mid-beat tempo*. Thanks for the memories.

    Win! Don’t forget a parent or other person stumbling into the room and asking you to take out the trash, then upon realizing their faux pas, quietly tip toeing out of the room.

    Yeah, I can’t sing “Pac-Man Fever” without also adding the SFX of a door closing and “Anggggie, Annnnya, Dinnnner.” in La Mommie’s sing song voice.

  11. April 4, 2010 4:12 pm

    Nightshift. is. so. wrong. Now, I love me a song about departed singers, but that video is all kinds of terrible. It’s like they were about to pick up the kids from school but realized they needed to go shoot video. They stopped by Eddie Murphy’s house and picked up some of his outfits from Delirious and went to the studio.

  12. April 4, 2010 4:14 pm

    This another song added to my “Raybear and Snarky” queue.

    Easy Lover
    Guilty
    Enough is Enough
    Method of Modern Love (I really think we could nail this as a duet. I already picture you throwing down on the lyric, “Style is time/we know fashion’s only now/we know the way no one needs to show us how…”)

  13. hsofia permalink
    April 4, 2010 4:14 pm

    I don’t remember the video, but the song, I loved haard.

  14. hsofia permalink
    April 4, 2010 4:17 pm

    OMG. I still have one or two cassette tapes from when I was a kid … I would pretend I was a radio DJ at a station called WHYA (my initials at the time) and I would tape my favorite of the top 40 hits that played on Saturday mornings. In between my songs, I’d make my little brothers play out the commercials for fake products that I’d written out ahead of time, and I’d conduct fake interviews with them. Good times.

  15. April 4, 2010 4:19 pm

    In between my songs, I’d make my little brothers play out the commercials for fake products that I’d written out ahead of time, and I’d conduct fake interviews with them. Good times.

    HAHAH! That is so great. What kind of products did you advertise.

  16. April 4, 2010 4:19 pm

    Oh the song is so damn good!

  17. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 4, 2010 5:28 pm

    There was a new KJ at my old haunt a few months ago, who brought copious props along for singers to use –which of course I hated, I don’t need to novelty up my act, thank you — and he used his fancy laptop karaoke program to run the show, which had songs included that weren’t in the regular library of songs on discs and he told us we could make requests off the books if we liked. This mitigated the props. I asked what Hall and Oates he had, since their disc catalog is paltry and I watched him type into the keyword box “Haulin’ Oats” and say, “nope, we don’t have anything by them!”

    He didn’t last long at his job.

    And now I want to start that band.

    But first, I will start practicing. I mean, Guilty and Easy Lover we could do right now at a perfect 10, I’m sure of it, but I need to study up on the finer points of Enough is Enough and MoML to get them right.

  18. araymondjohnson permalink
    April 4, 2010 5:29 pm

    RIP T-Bone

  19. April 4, 2010 5:33 pm

    I know, right! I actually preferred him to G.E. Smith.

  20. April 4, 2010 5:36 pm

    “Haulin’ Oat”.

    We definitely need to start that band. First I’ll have to break up Midnite Basketball, which might be tricky since the members haven’t shown up for rehearsal since 1997.

  21. unscrambled permalink
    April 4, 2010 5:52 pm

    arj, I thought of you during a recent dj battle of 2 friends of mine, when one played this song and THE WHOLE ROOM sang along. Another plus for Cleveland.

    It is an amazing song, because if you have a song in your head, this song always erases it. And now it’s in mine.

    Snarkys, I definitely had most of these songs on cassingle. Hell, my brother still might.

  22. hsofia permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:51 pm

    I wish I could remember … I think one was some type of dishwashing liquid, or shampoo. I definitely went for the cheese factor, and oversold everything. I need to get a cassette player.

  23. April 4, 2010 10:59 pm

    Just paying my respects.

  24. April 4, 2010 11:00 pm

    Don’t make me get Bonnie on your ass.

  25. April 5, 2010 12:24 pm

    I like Careless Whisper and Night Shift. A lot. Like I sing them around the house and stuff. I think they are both well written tunes, TBH.

    and by Bonnie do you mean the woman who sang Total Eclipse of the Heart? That song is a little overdramatic for me, but man, how can you forget it.

  26. April 5, 2010 1:54 pm

    Now I need to watch Tina in full Thunderdome garb. Tina makes melodrama taste sooooo good.

  27. April 5, 2010 8:53 pm

    I had the hugest crush on Daryl Hall when I was 12. Saw he & Oates do that li’l number on “The Daily Show” and realized my feelings never changed. Sent my brother an email with a link to the “Private Eyes” video and asked if we could do a re-do like we did when we were kids (another fave of ours was “Speed Demon” by Michael Jackson).

    @poplife
    There’s pretty much nothing hotter than Tina as Aunty Entity. She was the best part of the film, of course.

  28. April 5, 2010 9:18 pm

    I had the hugest crush on Daryl Hall when I was 12. Saw he & Oates do that li’l number on “The Daily Show” and realized my feelings never changed.

    Hello, twin!

Leave a Reply

