Skip to content

Sing us a song, chatroulettepianoman…

April 1, 2010

Last month, the fabulous Evmaroon, posted a pat of butter about the experience of the new chat technerdery, Chatroulette. Like Ev, I wondered what the heck could be so great about this new way to chat? Mostly, it seemed like a spot for bored Co-eds, voyeurs, and exhibitionists who have a web cam and a little down time.  But then, a fellow on a music board that I frequently post on posted this:

I sorta love this dude. He’s having a blast, but not at the expense of the chat partner, as I’ve seen on other “funny” Chatroulette blogs. (The real funny ones are few and far between) But the reactions to his little songs are the best part to me. It’s nice to see someone crack a smile as they realize what’s going on, as opposed to the horror of seeing someone whip out their junk uninvited, or having some assclown try to rile his chat partner up by using offensive terms.  ‘Merton’ makes something that’s creative and fun. My hat is off to you sir. And here’s some more if you enjoyed the video above.

Special thanks to Billy Joel.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. msjacks permalink
    April 1, 2010 1:42 pm

    Oh my gosh. This is just about the most adorable thing ever. It must be really fun to walk through life and be Merton.

  2. April 1, 2010 2:09 pm

    Cause we’re all in the mood for a melody and Merton’s got us feeling all right! This was lovely!

  3. evmaroon permalink
    April 1, 2010 3:27 pm

    Someone sent this to me after my original post and I have to say, it’s totally adorable. Thanks for linking it here for everyone!

  4. April 2, 2010 7:44 am

    OMG this is pure double-dipped awesomeness. Thank you so much for heightening my cultural awareness. Just when I get jaded and think all the good ideas must have already been tried, someone like Merton comes along. I hope he gets more than his fifteen minutes out of this because this really is inspired madness.

  5. April 3, 2010 12:52 pm

    wait, have you not see the ben folds tribute to merton that he did live from the stage on chatroulette?

Leave a Reply

