Skip to content

Who Is That Actor: Dennis Boutsikaris

March 24, 2010

You can’t kidnap a TV character or give a terminal prognosis on a medical drama without confronting Dennis Boutsikaris who seems to have filled the beard of tofu roles – taking flavors of sorrow, menace or intelligence based on the needs of the character – vacated by the death of the prolific character actor Ron Silver. And with Fisher Stevens off saving dolphins and winning Oscars, Boutsikaris seems to have the Beard of Tofu field all to his lonesome.

In just two days I have encountered him on seven shows! Most recently was an episode of HOUSE entitled The Black Hole. Then hours later, there he was holding vigil at Diane Venora’s bedside in an episode of GREY’S ANATOMY called Push. His IMDB resume boasts an impressive 80+ credits including a brief break at that rest stop for guest stars, Murder, She Wrote. He’s definitely got character actor cred making the rounds on THE X-FILES, MATLOCK, L&O (SVU and CI), CSI and of course MONK.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. A Sarah permalink
    March 24, 2010 8:56 am

    I wish you could see how vigorously I’m nodding. Dennis Boutsikaris is so ubiquitous that, even before the internet (BEFORE THE INTERNET, I tell you!) I made a point of checking the credits to figure out who this guy was. I find it frightening that he doesn’t seem to age. In your experience, is it always the case that if Dennis Boutsikaris shows up as a cranky, twitchy doctor, he’s ALWAYS the murderer? It holds without exception in the shows I’ve seen him in, but I’m not familiar with his whole oeuvre.

  2. March 24, 2010 9:12 am

    Absolutely! I’ll go you one better, if he shows up as someone’s lawyer, they are totally GUILTY.

    He’s also the go-to dude for cheating, yet remorseful husbands and scheming academics!

  3. March 24, 2010 11:52 am

    And now I know his name. I love the phrase “beard of tofu”. I imagine a beard that absorbs other beards’ colors and attributes.

  4. March 24, 2010 12:42 pm

    He belongs on the “that guy” list IMO.

    I remember him in 80’s gems Batteries Not Included and Crocodile Dundee – wait for it – II.

  5. evmaroon permalink
    March 24, 2010 1:15 pm

    wasn’t he also in Xanadu, or am I making that up?

  6. March 24, 2010 2:06 pm

    Not him, but he did play Woody Allen in Love and Betrayal: The Mia Farrow Story which I can assure you was unintentional lulz a go go.

  7. March 24, 2010 7:38 pm

    I count him playing a doctor at least nine times! I wonder how many time he was a psychiatrist who slept with his female patient only to have that female patient end up dead with him implicated in the murder?

  8. May 4, 2012 9:39 pm

    Reblogged this on The Iron Cupcake and commented:
    I’ve been a fan for years thanks to “Law & Order.” Seeing him on “Blue Bloods” tonight was nice.

Leave a Reply

