Skip to content

A Pre-Memorial to the Hardest Working Man in Show Business

March 20, 2010

Keith David.   Yeah, that’s right.  Don’t say “who?” because you know who he is.

Yesterday a friend texted me “omg, Keith David, omg” and my stomach dropped and I raced to the computer, texting her along the way “what happened?” and I hit google news, waiting for the obituaries or hospital reports and everything was old, crappy articles about The Princess and the Frog.  She texted back that nothing was wrong, she was just currently enjoying his performance in Off Limits, featuring Gregory Hines and Willem Dafoe, and apologized for the heart scare.

I’ve been thinking lately — probably because of my ridiculous outrage over the poor quality of this year’s Oscar death montage — about wanting to appreciate more performers before they pass on, to be careful of who I was taking for granted, and Keith David can easily be taken for granted, so let’s take some time to appreciate him now, while he’s still making three projects a week.  (Seriously, if you scroll through his IMDB profile, it will take you a few seconds to get down to the ’90s!)

And what is amazing about the internet still to me is how easy it is to find something amazing has hit the spot, your soul twin has already spent the OCD-hours required to cull and clip and reconfigure the hours and hours of movie footage, set it to an awesome soundtrack, and load it online for your enjoyment.  Let’s give it up for the internet geeks too, while we’re at it, I appreciate your content-providing a$$es.  The best part about this Keith David montage is that the creator clearly wants to go to bed with him, and I cannot really blame them for wanting that.   [NSFW, btw.  I mean, it’s Keith David, of course it’s NSFW.]

Live in Peace, Keith David.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 1:53 pm

    For me it’s Twitter who keeps inadvertently making me think someone has died who still lives (Betty White), or who starts penning these 140-ct. eulogies long before I”ve retunred home for coffee and even had time to digest the latest whose gone (Haim).

    Ah, I love Keith David, who seems to bring gravitas to even some rather stinky films. What a pleasure when I finally watched Carpenter’s The Thing and was treated to some Keith David in the character of Childs, who was great! Although Mr. David did sort of mess up Coraline for me, as I was sitting in the theater just *knowing* I knew that voice but couldn’t place it…

    A great tribute for a great actor.

  2. March 20, 2010 2:36 pm

    He was deliciously cheeky in an early season of Grey’s Anatomy. Oddly enough, I have never known this guy’s name. He’s incredibly wonderful. Thanks for this!

  3. March 20, 2010 2:44 pm

    & not to be confused with David Keith, I am always flipping those names around.

  4. March 20, 2010 3:07 pm

    Or John Witherspoon!

  5. March 20, 2010 4:14 pm

    I love his smack-down of Noni in Reality Bites AND he was in the Tiger Woods Story. Maybe they’ll make a sequel….

  6. March 20, 2010 5:54 pm

    “You’re overqualified”
    “but really I’m not.”

  7. March 20, 2010 6:41 pm

    I had to Google.

    ??>

    Then,

    Oh, I get it now.

  8. March 20, 2010 6:42 pm

    Whoops, typy! My first link should have been to this dude.

  9. araymondjohnson permalink
    March 20, 2010 7:16 pm

    There was a solid year when I got John Witherspoon and Keith David mixed up, and my only marker that would help me keep it straight was “which one starred in Friday?”

  10. araymondjohnson permalink
    March 20, 2010 7:18 pm

    oh damn, I didn’t know about the Tiger Woods story. I want Keith David and Cybill Shepherd to star in some hallucinogenic fever dream about Tiger and Martha!

  11. araymondjohnson permalink
    March 20, 2010 8:03 pm

    twitter and fb statuses are totally our new obituary section.

  12. evmaroon permalink
    March 20, 2010 8:15 pm

    That really was one of the best scenes in Requiem, because he was so subtle with the line delivery. Thanks for this kickass post!

  13. unscrambled permalink
    March 21, 2010 3:26 am

    ahahaha! I’m so glad this happened. I mean, I’m sorry I gave you a heart attack, but still. That acting reel is classic.

  14. unscrambled permalink
    March 21, 2010 3:27 am

    PLUS Vin Diesel, I mean, talk about candy!

  15. March 21, 2010 7:11 pm

    Yeah that clip reel is ace.

  16. March 23, 2010 3:24 am

    Hahaha! My compass was “Hollywood Shuffle”

    HOECAKES!!!

  17. March 23, 2010 3:28 am

    OMG. Volcano. ALL THE FACES LOOK THE SAME!!!!

Leave a Reply

