Skip to content

My Favorite Movie Quotes

March 18, 2010

I am smack dab in the middle of my reader request week! Tons of email requests and this one’s from Adrian – a reader and active commenter on my office supply blog Does This Pen Write?. Adrian and I have been corresponding for several months and she is part patron, part pushy showbiz mom and my personal Auntie Mame. Here’s a snippet of the email:

You make the best use of both obscure and popular movie quotes and I would love to see a list of your favorites. I don’t always know every reference, yet still find their inclusion in your writing delightful.

This is NOTHING! Stanley Motss in Wag the Dog

So what are your favorite movie quotes. I love hearing what lines other people dig on and use in their lives.

As usual, these are in no particular order.

1. “Fifteen hundred years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the universe. Five hundred years ago, everybody knew the Earth was flat, and fifteen minutes ago, you knew that humans were alone on this planet. Imagine what you’ll know tomorrow.” – Kay (Tommy Lee Jones) – Men in Black

It’s the way he says, “Imagine what you’ll know tomorrow.” The wonder way there is a slip of his Texan accent. It gets me every time. The delivery style is intimate yet dismissive.

2. “Fuck the world. Try a ten a.m. script meeting, coked to the gills, no sleep and you haven’t even read the treatment. “ – Stanley Motss (Dustin Hoffman) – Wag the Dog

Hoffman has so many delicious lines in this film, but this is my favorite. It’s the perfect embodiment of his character and a cheeky send up to Robert Evans. And it’s hilarious.

3. “The ringer cannot look empty.” Walter Sobchak (John Goodman) – The Big Lebowski

In a film that is infinitely quotable this line tends to be overlooked, but it is just as hilarious as “This is bowling, not ‘Nam, there are rules.” and probably used a whole lot less. Also, I kind of feel like Walter sometimes, though I’d like to believe I’m possess more self awareness, despite probably being as abrasive.

4. “All combat takes place at night, in the rain, and at the junction of four map segments. “ AND “Stan, get with it. I read the first draft of the Warren Report and it says Kennedy was killed by a drunk driver.” – Connie Brean (Robert DeNiro) – Wag the Dog

The first quote makes me laugh so hard despite not knowing what the hell he’s talking about. And the later is all about the delivery. DeNiro gets all squinty eyed and smirky, like he’s trying NOT to laugh. It’s a great scene.

5. “Oh I really fascinated with aviation. I never knew they did it all with rubber bands!” – Auntie Mame (Rosalind Russell) Auntie Mame

I love this line because it’s so random, as many of her lines are. But they are totally delivered with a zing and zip and playful disregard. Rosalind Russell was so wonderful in this movie. I don’t actually say this much, but I do find myself using it as a signature or status update from time to time.

Deputy Marshall Sam Gerard

6. “Well, think me up a cup of coffee and a chocolate doughnut with some of those little sprinkles on top, while you’re thinking.” – Dept. Marshall Samuel Gerard (Tommy Lee Jones) – The Fugitive

I’m fairly convinced this is the line that won him the Oscar. Again, it’s all about his delivery and I love tossing this one out whenever someone is “thinking”.

7. “Mr. Takagi, I could talk about industrialization and men’s fashion all day, but I’m afraid work must intrude, and my associate, Theo, has some questions for you. Sort of fill in the blanks questions, actually.” – Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman) – Die Hard

Alan Rickman. Best villain of all time. End of story. Best line in the movie.

8. “Karen: You’ll never get this many people to come to my funeral. Michael: Ohh, Karen, I’ll come. And, you know… I’ll bring a date.” – Karen (Jo Beth Williams) and Michael (Jeff Goldblum) – The Big Chill

Jeff Goldblum gets all the inappropriately hilarious one-liners in this movie.

9. “Hey, he pulls the wagon; I make the deals. You wanna ride?” – Coachman (Danny Stone) – Ghostbusters

Another one of those funny lines that gets lost in avalanche of funny bits of dialog. It’s up there with, “Yes, have some.” in terms of utility in my own life. Which is to say I use it quite a bit.

10. “This is war, Peacock. Casualties are inevitable. You can not make an omelet without breaking eggs, every cook will tell you that.” – Col. Mustard (Martin Mull) – Clue

I love how he growls “war”, yet makes the worst motivating “war” speech ever.

————-

This originally appeared on Snarky’s Machine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. evmaroon permalink
    March 18, 2010 10:37 am

    Here I shamefully admit that I have never seen Wag the Dog. I would blame the original trailer and marketing of the film for this, which I didn’t particularly find interesting, but I know that wasn’t why I had my initial aversion to it. I’d just moved to Washington, DC, and the Lewinsky scandal was beginning its awful percolation, and that context confounded what the movie was really about in my mind. And now I’m wondering if I didn’t miss something big, like saying “I’m not going to see the Big Lebowski because it’s about bowling.” So let me go on over to my Netflix and fix my queue!

    I’m so happy to see an Alan Rickman quote in there, and something from Clue (I miss Martin Mull, too). Clue! I think I have memorized most of the lines in that one. I still guffaw every time the singing telegram pops up. Thanks for posting these—you have quite a recall of great lines!

  2. March 18, 2010 11:34 pm

    As you know, I quote Star Wars whenever possible. Also, pretty much anything from Pulp Fiction. Especially the “Bonnie Situation” scene.

  3. April 1, 2010 5:47 pm

    But was gonna go to Tochee station for power converters!

  4. April 1, 2010 5:47 pm

    Gosh, Clue is endlessly quotable.

Leave a Reply

