Skip to content

New in My Instant Queue

March 14, 2010

Malkovich, Malkovich...

Making Mr. Right – The brilliance that is Ann “Bongwater” Magnuson storms the screen with fantagical results. Underrated, even by cult classic standards, this deftly directed Susan Siedelman flick is new hotness from start to finish. Oh, and it co-stars John Malkovich (The Killing Fields). I didn’t want to mention it at first, lest you think I was just making this whole thing up.

Silverado – A collection of Snarky approved Kasdan regulars take a field trip to the Wild West. Holla! Cast includes: Danny Glover (2012), Jeff Goldblum (Earth Girls Are Easy), Kevin Kline (yes, I am very much a Kline fan, despite being too scared to watch A Fish Called Wanda), Kevin Costner (his performance is left intact!), Brian Dennehy (whatever Charles Durning wasn’t in), Linda Hunt (NCIS Los Angeles), Lynn Whitfield (Thin Line Between Love and Hate), John Cleese (Rat Race), Rosanna Arquette (The L Word), Scott Glenn (Nights in Rodanthe) and RICHARD JENKINS (And The Band Played On)!!!

My Brilliant Career. Oh look ANOTHER FEMALE DIRECTOR. Gillian Armstrong, I love you. Thank you for giving us Yanks the incomparable Judy Davis (Husbands and Wives) in an intergalactic performance. This underrated emotional fist pumper should not be missed. It also stars this other guy, I don’t know much about him. Sam Neill (Jurassic Park III) or something. Or was it Bruce Greenwood (Exotica). I get all my solid, chameleon like supporting players confused.

Barry Lyndon – Ryan O’Neal (Love Story) at his most Ryan O’Nealiest stars in the Kube’s delicious film about a social mountaineer and the hilarity that ensues. By hilarity I mean drama and reversals of fortunes. Look, nobody watches this movie for the story, which is skimpy at best. You watch this to see just what a state-of-the-art eleventy billion dollar camera can do when tasked with recreating “naturalist” lighting/shadows. It’s in my top three of Kube films (that’s Kubrick for the uninitiated).

Executive Decision – Can I resist the lure of a Seagal (The Glimmer Man) film that has the cheek and cinematic vision to reportedly kill him off before you finish paying two hundred dollars for a thimble of popcorn? Turns out I can’t. If there is a lifetime Razzie in Ms. Berry’s future, let her work here be submitted in lieu of anything else she’s ever done. Kurt Russell (Big Trouble in Little China) stars in what looks to be prep work for his role in Vanilla Sky. He is another alum from the “put him in glasses” school of acting.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 6:30 pm

    I’m really looking forward to watching Making Mr. Right again. Not just for Malkovich, who I love, but also for Magnuson, who was the best thing about the old sitcom Anything But Love. I’ve actually never seen any of the others, but I have a feeling that’s going to change real soon.

  2. March 14, 2010 6:44 pm

    Executive Decision is like Air Force One but with all its creators asleep at the controls.

  3. alicia Wein permalink
    March 14, 2010 7:32 pm

    Silverado is a favorite in our family…my little nephew’s name is Paden.

    The movie-cowboy-names is a growing family tradition…his dad (my bro) is Zachary, after Zachary Bass…and our dad’s name is Dale…he says it’s not after Dale Evans, but I know Gram too well to believe him…

    Anyway, “I think there’s just a coupla guys up there, and this asshole’s one of them.”

  4. araymondjohnson permalink
    March 14, 2010 8:17 pm

    omg, I thought I was the last Kevin Kline fan who’d never seen A Fish Called Wanda! That’s how we know it’s our time to pass out of this world, when we’re sitting in an old folks home and we look at each other and say “let’s watch it now.”

  5. March 14, 2010 9:16 pm

    Ann is a goddess. Seeing her in concert was a religious experience. And whatta babe:

  6. badhedgehog permalink
    March 15, 2010 11:29 am

    I have huge gaps in my film knowledge. So, there’s a sci-fi rom-com, by the woman who directed Desperately Seeking Susan (I love that film to a ridiculous extent), and John Malkovich is in it? I have to see this.

Leave a Reply

