Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Maurice Micklewhite

March 14, 2010

Pop candy Caine.

I was watching two critics panning the 1987 Jaws release while sitting in my parents living room drinking Capri-Sun and eating fancy crackers. One reviewer snarked, “I have no idea why the prolific Caine chose this project, but the film is worse off because of it.”

The word “prolific” hung in the air like a fart. I had heard it before and being the context clues sort of gal that I was, I decided it was evil. I knew what it meant, but I did not realize until much later it was generally NOT a pejorative.

But, OG Alfie got back at his critics with a zinger that is pure Caine snarkery:

“I have never seen the film, but by all accounts it was terrible. However I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific.”

Happy birthday, you fabulous bastard. And try not to let Jude Law star in anymore of your remakes.

What’s your favorite bad Caine film? I’m leaning towards Beyond the Poseidon Adventure?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 3:27 am

    I adore Sir Michael, his great films (Deathtrap) and stinkers (The Hand) alike. And I believe he’s the Best. Alfred. Ever.

  2. March 14, 2010 3:28 am

    I can’t wait to watch Deathtrap with you.

  3. araymondjohnson permalink
    March 14, 2010 9:22 am

    His recent thriller Flawless with the cable-ready Demi Moore is a great movie to watch while sick and feverish. My favorite work is the late 80s miniseries movie about Jack the Ripper, Surrender with Sally Field and Steve Guttenberg, and as the bumbling Sherlock in Without a Clue. Late 80s Sir Michael is clearly my favorite vintage.

  4. March 14, 2010 12:10 pm

    Michael Caine is the easiest Cockney-like accent to get absolutely wrong but still have people know who you’re impersonating.

  5. March 14, 2010 2:45 pm

    Let’s not forget BLAME IT ON RIO!!

  6. evmaroon permalink
    March 14, 2010 3:21 pm

    I want to see Michael Caine and Gene Hackman in a buddy film. I really really do.

  7. March 14, 2010 3:29 pm

    Seriously. Preferably if they have to outrun Morgan Freeman. Maybe we can get Clint Eastwood on the case, since Morgan and Gene are probably drinking beers in his Treehouse.

  8. March 15, 2010 11:34 am

    MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL FA SHO!!! (:

Leave a Reply

